

# **Old Lancastrian Club**

### Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held at 6.30pm on Friday 8 July 2022 at the Midland Hotel, Morecambe

- Present: MS Alexander, R Benson, RAD Burgess, SG Clarke, M Coulthwaite, G Ellis, P Fitton, C Holden, N Holland, D Holmes, RG Jackson, G Parker, C Povey, M Robinson, MER Robinson, PW Sampson, P Sycamore, WI Weir, P Wellings, D Wilkinson, A M Wilson.
- **1. Motion:** "Your Committee unanimously recommends the revised 2022 Constitution and seeks its adoption for immediate implementation." Proposed: Peter Dyer; Seconded: Rod Burgess.

The motion was passed *nem con*, with no abstentions, with the caveat that the text is corrected so that the GDPR is referred to as a Regulation and not an Act. *Action: SGC* 

### 2. Apologies for absence:

Paul Andrew (Hon Secretary), Simon Corless (Hon Treasurer), C Gregson.

# 3. Minutes of the AGM, 3 July 2021

The Minutes were accepted as a true record of the 2021 AGM.

# 4. Hon Treasurer's Report

The Accounts were accepted *nem con*, with no abstentions.

The Honorary Treasurer's Report had been published in the 2022 OLC Newsletter.

Raising the subscription, possibly to £25, was discussed. No formal proposal was mooted, but it was informally agreed that the Treasurer would review this matter in the context of moving to Direct Debit.

## 5. Hon Secretary's Report

The Acting Honorary Secretary was unable to attend the AGM because he was ill. His Report had been published in the 2022 OLC Newsletter.

### 6. Election of Committee Officers and Members

The following duly nominated candidates were elected *nem con*, with no abstentions, to serve until the 2025 AGM:

Officers			
Chairman:	Martin Alexander	Proposed: Ian Weir. Seconded: Stephen Clarke.	
Treasurer:	Simon Corless	Proposed: Rod Burgess. Seconded: Richard Brigg.	
Secretary:	Paul Andrew	Proposed: Peter Dyer. Seconded: Robin Jackson.	
Committee Members			
Craig Atkinson		Proposed: Chris Pyle. Seconded: Jenny Cornell.	
Paul Bradburn		Proposed: Jeremy Duerden. Seconded: Paul Fitton.	
Rod Burgess		Proposed: Robin Jackson. Seconded: Peter Dyer.	
Peter Dyer		Proposed: Ian Weir. Seconded: Stephen Clarke.	

Robin Jackson	Proposed: Peter Dyer. Seconded: Rod Burgess.
Olly Jacques	Proposed: Craig Atkinson. Seconded: Chris Pyle.
Donald Wilkinson	Proposed: Jeremy Duerden. Seconded: Ian Weir.

# 7. Election of Vice-President (2022-23)

A former Chief Constable of Durham Constabulary, Mike Barton CBE, QPM, DL, was proposed by Geoff Ellis and seconded by Paul Fitton. He was elected unanimously.

## 8. Investiture and Acceptance of President (2022-23)

A former Deputy High Court Judge, and President of the Law Society of England and Wales, the OLC's 2021-22 Vice-President, His Honour Phillip Sycamore CBE, accepted the office of President for 2022-23, prior to being invested at the Dinner later that evening.

# 9. AOB

There was no other business.

The meeting closed at 7.00pm.